HTML Character Set Tutorial
If you want to display your HTML page properly, you should declare a Character Set. A web browser must know which character set (character encoding) to use.

What is Character Encoding?

In computing, a character encoding is used to represent a repertoire of characters by some kind of encoding system. 

A character encoding is used for computation, data storage, and transmission of textual data. "Character set", "character map", "codeset" and "code page" are related, but not identical, terms. (Wiki)

First Character Encoding.

The ASCII was the first character encoding standard. ASCII defined 128 different alphanumeric characters that could be used on the internet: numbers (0-9), English letters (A-Z), and some special characters like ! $ + - ( ) @ < > .

ANSI (Windows-1252) was the original Windows character set, with support for 256 different character codes.

ISO-8859-1 was the default character set for HTML 4. ISO-8859-1 also supported 256 different character codes.

Because ANSI and ISO-8859-1 were so limited, HTML 4 also supported UTF-8.

UTF-8 (Unicode) covers almost all of the characters and symbols in the world.

Default Character Set

The default character encoding for HTML4 is ISO-8859-1.

The default character encoding for HTML5 is UTF-8.

Where to use HTML Character Set?/How to use HTML Character Set?

In the HTML <head></head> section you can use HTML Character Set. The HTML Character Set is specified in the <meta> tag below Example:

HTML4 Character Set:

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;charset=ISO-8859-1">

HTML5 Character Set:

<meta charset="UTF-8">

Find us on

Facebook Google Plus Twitter Pinterest YouTube

web hit counter